skip to Main Content

Canobolas Cup 2019

The 2019 edition of the Canobolas Cup wrapped up today, with Beryl Pearce taking out her 5th title, her 1st coming 24 years ago. In claiming her 5th title, Beryl becomes the most decorated Ladies Canobolas Cup winner throughout the history of the event at the club, which dates back to 1925. Beryl won the 36 hole final over Jenny Milner 7/6.

Margot Sullivan took the honours in the Consolation Cup with a 2/1 win over 2018 Canobolas Cup Champion, Wendy Reid.

The Canobolas Cup is the individual net Matchplay championship and is one of the premier events on the ladies golfing calendar.

A rich history of past champions exists. We are currently going through all our records to preserve them in digital format and make them more accessible for all.

Well done to Wendy Reid who has qualified as defending champ and therefore gives herself a chance at a title defence. Back to back wins have only been achieved 3 times in the past 31 years with Helen McDonell (1986,1987) Sandra Schultz (1996,1997), and Elaine Cusack (2016,2017) – that pattern suggests whoever wins it in 2026 is well placed to double up in 2027!

Well done also to Beryl Pearce who has qualified yet again. Beryl is currently tied as the most decorated title holder over the past 31 years with Shirley Doherty – both have 4 wins to their name. Helen McDonell sits in 3rd place with 3 wins.

Current Ladies Canobolas Cup Champions dating back to 1986 are presented below…

Beryl Pearce 2019
Wendy Reid 2018
Elaine Cusack 2017
Elaine Cusack 2016
Beryl Pearce 2015
Dawn Roberts 2014
Sally Heigh 2013
Shirley Doherty 2012
Virginia Conran 2011
Shirley Doherty 2010
Jenny Walker 2009
Beryl McCloskey 2008
C. Gleeson 2007
Shirley Doherty 2006
Di Smith 2005
Shirley Doherty 2004
Kim Draper 2003
Esme Davis 2002
Beryl McCloskey 2001
Esther Giblin 2000
Bernadette Cornelius 1999
Maria Crawford 1998
Sandra Schultz 1997
Sandra Schultz 1996
Beryl McCloskey 1995
Helen McDonell 1994
Maisie Strachan 1993
Elaine Connor 1992
Esther Giblin 1991
Not Known 1990
Joan Griffin 1989
Bobbie Stibbard 1988
Helen McDonell 1987
Helen McDonell 1986